Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
AVIR Honors
Share |



Each year at our annual meeting, we honor Shari Ullman and her contributions to our society by awarding our Keynote Speaker this award. Shari's dedication to our field inspires all of us to be better.

Click Here    To learn more about Shari Ullman and our Foundation



 2017 Congratulations Dr. Angle, UVA
2017 Dr. John Fritz Angle  2016 Dr. Michael Dake  2015 Dr. Jafar Golzarian

2014 Dr. Barry Katzen

2013 Dr. Gary Siskin

2012 Dr. Alan Matsumoto

2011 Dr. Buddy Connors

2010 Dr. Wayne Yakes

2009 Dr. John Aruny

2008 Dr. David Hunter

2008 Mary Kaye Obrien

2007 Dr. Donald Denny

2006 Carol Mascioli

2005 Dr. Brian Stainken

2004 Dr. Sehan Senler

2003 Thomas Burke

2002 Dr. Curtis Bakal

2001 Dr. Gary Becker

2000 Dr. Alan Zuckerman

1999 Dr. Gregory Joseph 1998 Dr. Barry Katzen


2015, 2016, 2017 - Sorry there were no submissions, be sure to get yours in for 2018

2014 Robert Sheridan

2012 Izzy Ramaswamy

2010 John Mancera

2009 Diane Koenigshofer

2009 Melissa Post

2008 Viki Allenbach

2007 Darlene Crocket

2006 Joni Schott

2005 Deborah Sepinski

2005 Bill Greear

2004 Leona Benson

2003 Sharon Misler

2003 Anita Bell

2002 Betty Ashdown

2001 James Matthews

2001 Karen Finnegan

2000 Michael Tom

1999 Sue Smith

1997 Kathi Clark

1997 Joyce Moses

1997 Meredith Gaiter Brown

1996 Shari Ullman

1996 Sherry Stefina

1996 Mary Kay O’Brien

1996 Carol Mascioli

1996 Tom Burke

1996 Dennis Bair



2017 Debra Barnes RT R CV - Froedert Hospital, Milwaukee WI

2016 Rita Howard 2015 Mike Kelly 2014 Anne Kubasiak
2013 Roberto Telleria 2012 David Baires 2011 Stephen Haug
2010 Heidi Apfel 2009 Juan Mancera 2008 Rebecca Lassiter
2007 Patricia Crane 2006 Jaime Nodolf 2005 Viki Allenbach
2004 Sandra Dixon 2003 Leona Benson 2002 Sharon Misler
2001 Marie Shodle 2000 Gene Maziarski 1999 David Hall
1998 Gara Colelli 1997 Richard Cless

  1996 Joyce Moses




The AVIR Fellowship recognizes Interventional Radiographers who demonstrate a continuing pursuit of excellence in the IR profession. The commitment begins at the hospital level, moves on to the local AVIR chapter and escalates to your commitment at the national level. The application employs a point system to evaluate the contributions of the candidate in three areas: Personal qualifications (education, experience), contributions to the AVIR (national and local chapters), and contributions to the profession (other than AVIR). Once the minimum amount of points is reached, an application may be submitted to the Fellowship Committee for review.  


 To Download Application (PDF)


You May Submit Your Application and Supporting Documentation electronically at the bottom of this page or email to us at  





The Award of Excellence is presented annually by the AVIR to one outstanding Interventional Radiographer each year at our annual meeting. The prestige of this award lies in the fact that the winner is nominated by his or her peers. This person represents the best of all we stand for as professionals, colleagues, and patient care advocates. If you know someone that stands out and should be recognized for going the extra mile each and every time please fill out the application on their behalf.The application does not have to be completed by an AVIR member, but by anyone who feels that the nominee goes above and beyond the call of duty and demonstrates a dedication to his or her job and profession.

The recipient of this award will be honored at our annual meeting in Los Angeles, and featured in our Annual Meeting Newsletter. Additionally, their registration fee for the conference and accommodations will be waived. The recipient of this award will be announced in February, and all submissions are due by January 1.



 To Download Application (PDF)


You May Submit Your Application and Supporting Documentation electronically at the bottom of this page or email to us at




The AVIR is pleased to introduce our newest award, The President's Award of Educational Excellence. This award will honor a VI student who demonstrates a passion for Interventional Radiology through their commitment to patient care, research and innovation, and pursuit of continued learning. 

The candidate who is selected for this national recognition will be honored at our annual scientific meeting in Washington D.C. Additionally, they will be featured in our Annual Meeting Newsletter and have their registration fee as well as accommodations for the annual meeting waived. 

To qualify for this award, students must actively be enrolled in a VI training program, either certificate, internship, or college based. Program Directors, Clinical Coordinators, Clinical Instructors, or technologists interested in recommending students should click the link below to complete the necessary application. All applications must include two letters of recommendation. Acceptable sources include the student's Program Director, a physician, clinical instructor, technologist within the division, or instructor within the program. All applications and recommendations will be reviewed by the AVIR Board of Directors, and the recipient of the award will be determined and announced in February. Deadline for submission is January 1.

  To Download Application (PDF)


You May Submit Your Application and Supporting Documentation electronically at the bottom of this page or email to us at





Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal